Samuel Crawford, the third governor of Kansas, built this
building in 1888 as part of his publishing business, the Weekly Breeze. After over one hundred years of useful life,
this Romanesque office building suffered a partial collapse of the south
exterior wall. Its prominence in the Topeka community encouraged local preservationists to
save it from demolition.
CP&Associates worked with the new building’s owners and
prepared a preservation plan for the building’s rehabilitation and adaptive
reuse. In addition, CP&A prepared a
master plan to connect the Crawford Building with similar vintage one-story commercial
structures in the same block, creating a unique and historic “Governor’s Place”
arcade of mixed-use development in downtown Topeka.
The Crawford Building rehabilitation for multi-tenant occupancy included structural
stabilization and repairs to the failed south wall; exterior masonry
restoration including repointing the brick and stone mortar; exterior window
repairs including new insulated glazing and paint finish; new roof membrane;
new second fire stair addition; new elevator from basement to the fourth floor;
new HVAC, plumbing and electrical equipment and systems; new interior finishes;
repaired historic interior finishes including wood wainscot, door and window
Although the Crawford
successfully rehabilitated for new occupancy, the adjacent mixed-use
development as originally conceived by CP&A was never realized.